Posted by: asabbott | August 8, 2007

Day 77 (Vienna, Austria) – Waiting for the train

I think I still have a lingering hangover.  A two day hangover means you had one hell of a night, right?  It’s really not that bad though and I don’t have anything I need to do except wait for my train to Romania. 

I decided to go to Romania because I had an extra week before I wanted to be in Italy.  Romania always sounded like an interesting place and it was included in my EURail pass.  Initially I wanted to travel to Bucherest, but there were no cheep hostels there and the hotel prices were more than what I paid in Paris.  It turns out that Romania isn’t the cheap Eastern European country it once used to be.  Now it is a thriving tourist destination and the prices were definitely reflecting that.

This was going to be my second night train of my trip.  I hated the last one so didn’t expect this one would be any different.  My assigned cabin’s air-conditioning was not working very well and I had the very top bunk.  The windows were locked shut.  This was awful.  I was miserable and barely got an hour worth of sleep.  I absolutely hate night trains.  The problem is that to get to Brasov, Romania from Vienna a night train was your only option.  And it’s the same to get back to Vienna from Brasov, which I will have to do again next week.  Something to look forward to, I suppose.


Leave a comment

Categories