Posted by: asabbott | August 18, 2007

Day 87 (Rimini, Italy) – Suggestion from Adam

On a suggestion from my friend Adam who I met in Brugges, I headed to Rimini today to hang out on the beach for a few days before I went to Rome.  The first thing I needed to do when I got there was to get my haircut.  I found a salon around the corner from my hostel and told the girl just to cut my hair like the typical guy haircut in Italy.  Most of the Italian guys that I had seen so far had a sort of a faux-halk which is how I had been cutting my hair before I started to travel.  So I figured that is how she would cut it and it was easier for me to tell her to cut it typically than try to explain some specific way when we didn’t speak the same language.  It turned out pretty good actually.

With my new dew I headed down to the beach for the rest of the afternoon to work on tanning my pale ass.  I forgot to put sunscreen on got a little burnt but nothing too bad.  By tomorrow it will be a golden brown white.

That night I met three girls while sitting down in the bar: Kristin (pronounced Christine) from Germany and Bea and Belin, both from Spain.  The three of us hung out and talked over a few beers.  Belin didn’t speak much English (or that’s what she told me) so we just nodded a lot and smiled.  But Kristin, Bea and I had a good time sharing some of our travels and backgrounds.

Just when it was getting sort of late (midnight, yes that’s late for me) Bea asked where we were going to go out to tonight.  I forgot that the Spanish don’t even think abut going out until at least one in the morning.  After hardly any convincing I said I was in.  I wasn’t about to say no to a night with three beautiful girls on my arms.

A couple of local guys told us about a night club called “Padisimo” which is supposed to be the best place here and also one of the best in Europe.  When we got there I was pretty impressed with the setup.  There were three floors to choice from each with a different style of music.  What I wasn’t impressed with was the fact that everybody there was 16 years old.  I don’t mind talking to younger girls, but I think I must draw a line at ones who can’t even go to an ‘R’ rated movie in the US, let alone drink.  And Bea, Belin, and Kristin felt the same way about the guys so the four of us basically stuck together for the rest of the night.


Leave a comment

Categories