Posted by: asabbott | August 19, 2007

Day 88 (Rimini, Italy) – Beach

I met the girls downstairs for breakfast then the four of us headed to the beach to spend the day.  We were all pretty tired from the night before so we pretty much just crashed for awhile in the sand while working on our tans. 

For lunch we decided to take a walk down the beach and find something to eat.  The beaches in Europe are so much different than what I’ve seen in the US and in the Caribbean.  Most all the beaches here are occupied by private beach clubs.  You have to pay a daily fee to use them.  They usually provide you with a chair, umbrella and sometimes even a towel.   It’s sort of a nice setup because you can lounge in a nice beach chair all day.  I think I’m still more of a fan of the public beach area that I’m used to.

Anyways, during lunch we were just chatting about various things but then Belin spoke up and said “I am fat.”  It was really funny because she meant to say that she was full, not fat.  I get a kick out of hearing the literal translation of people’s native tongue to English.  I’ve heard some funny phrases. Another one of Belin’s own was “My foot is a sleeping.”  

That night I didn’t feel like going out for a late night but still went down to the bar for a drink and some conversation.  I met a girl named Christine from Germany.  I think this is the 4th girl I’ve met from Germany named Christine.  It definitely makes things easy to remember.  That day she was walking down the street just outside the hostel and had her wallet stolen out of her purse.  The thief got all her cash and credit cards.  She was just starting her holiday in Italy too but now will have to head back to Germany because she has no money left.  What a bummer because she would have been traveling on much of the same itinerary as me and I think would be an excellent travel partner.  I guess it wasn’t meant to be though. 


Leave a comment

Categories